Need help

effect2g

Well this is my first post and I am really new to this whole thing so let me just begin:

Long story short my brother used to live with me and he had a Behringer mixer and 2 M-Audio BX5's. I loved the sound that studio monitors had, so I wanted to get my own setup (my brother moved 3 years ago).
I found a deal on a Behringer Truth B3031A (single monitor) on craigslist for cheap with the intention of buying another to complete the set. I also found a Behringer Xenyx 1002B mixer to use as an interface between the monitors and my PC.

Current problem:
The sound is really, really, really low and muffled. I have the RCA chords running to my PC, and a 1/4 cable running to the monitor through the Xenyx interface. I have messed with every knob, changed every input, messed with every everything and I can't figure this out. What I was told from the guy who sold me the mixer is that it is an "unpowered" mixer and that is my problem. He said I might need an amp to get this setup to work the way that I want it to.

Essentially I just need help. I don't know what direction to go in. Are there mixers that I can buy that have an amp in them (I'm not sure if my brothers old setup had a mixer with an amp built in) or do I just need an amp? I'm not exactly in a rush, but money is kind of tight, and I am just trying to find the cheapest fix to get this monitor (and my future monitor) to run properly.

I know these questions are absolutely amateur and I might be posting in the wrong forum, so I apologize. But any help is greatly appreciated. Thank you very much.

I don't know the specific answer to your hookup issue but...... The monitor I am pretty sure is a powered monitor.
Edit: it is a powerful monitor. It needs no amp.

Mixers for recording are not powered. Only lower end old mixers sometimes had a built in power amplifier, and were designed for rehearsal or small club gigs.