My DIY vocal booth

Loglisci44

This is my first post and I am fairly new to recording.

I record Rap/ R&B where the beats are pre-made for me, therefore 3/4 of the battle is over.

My only concern was for vocals. I record in my house, therefore there is a lot of noise and movement circulating throughout. I was not worried about sound attenuation as much as I was worried about sound absorption and reflective sound hitting the mic.

I did research on this forum for about a week before i pulled the trigger on my own DIY vocal booth. It is portable, "fairly" light weight, and under 300$.

First from reading and talking to different people i found plywood was a very reflective material, probably the worst to go weith if the choice was given. Multiple materials came and went as options but i ended up deciding on 3/4 Homosote Sound Attenuation Board from Home Depot---about 26$ a sheet.

The board was 4x8. I got 1x3 and built the frame, connecting it with L brackets. The homosote board was screwed to the frame. The front of the booth measures 41 inches.

From reading i also learned the #1 you do not want a perfect square, and #2 you do not want walls running perfectly parrallel. I did my best to get past the perfectly suqare part but since being able to fold it up after use and still using the guest room for its purpose was an isssue i was forced to stay somewhat square.

The front measures 41 inches and the 2 walls measure 48 inches. They will be angled out away from each other as much as possible to create a
_
/ \
shape.

Since i read that complete enclosure may not be the way to go in a small booth i opted to leave the back open and use a curtain road with 2 think quilts attatched to hang over. The top will have 1x3 ruinning across is seperated by 1 1/2 ft. Blankets will be draped on top and allowed to droop in somewhat for further sound absorption.