My Apartment Sound Room / Booth Build

chadg

Hi all,

Preface -- I'm a long-time lurker on the forum, but new to posting. I'm not new to recording. I understand the foundations of sound control but I'm by no means a master of that or construction. Call me an extremely enthused hobbyist, I guess. I'm a musician that is tired of not being able to make noise or record in proper isolation.

About a month ago I completed a construction project I thought you guys might be interested in, especially if you live in an apartment or some other attached home situation. I built a sound booth in my apartment garage based on the following criteria:

• It had to provide proper isolation for recording
  • It had to be large enough to avoid the boxy "closet booth" sound and also fit my electronic drums (those things are surprisingly loud)
  • It had to significantly reduce the decibel level of whatever noise I'm making in it for my neighbors and family
  • It had to be modular so I could dismantle it and take it with me if I move
Originally I did hope to record the whole process as a for-pay full "how to" package including 3d models, walkthroughs, diagrams, etc...but to be honest I have no idea if there would be any interest at all and that will take some serious time to compile. For now, I'm just stupid excited with how this turned out, so I kind of just want to show it off and give a quick rundown in case it can inspire anyone else to take on a similar project. I don't have any usable pics of the exterior yet, but here is the interior:

soundroom_interior.jpg

VIDEO BELOW. I'LL ADD ADDITIONAL VIDEOS IN FOLLOW UP REPLIES. Here's a (not-so) quick rundown:

Interior dimensions are 5'W x 6'L x 7'H.

The entire frame is 2x3 instead of 2x4 to conserve space. Simple 16-on-center design and squaring up was done when drywall was attached to the frame.