Mini Sound booth advice needed

Zorillias

Hey guys,

so I'm an avid writer and really enjoy writing music and recording, I felt an urge to get a mic and get to do actual recording not only recording my instruments straight through a sound card but also using an actual mic.

Now problem is the acoustics and noise, the mic picks up noise I can't just edit out, so I found this video that shows this guy making a small version of an acoustic sound booth, I want to do the same thing and have the foam and a fitting light box as well, problem is I'm trying to figure a way to be able to put the box on top of a mic stand and not have it sitting on my desk.

I can't think of the specific build for this but it has to be something not too narrow, holding the stand right below the sound box holding it in its place. also needs to be removeable.

Suggestions?

Something like this would be designed with the intention of keeping room reflections from entering the mic. Although my expectations would be rather low for how well it does that...

What kind of noise are you experiencing? Environmental noise like traffic, lawnmowers, kids playing, etc? Or just room reflections?

That might work for things like AC air vent noise or if you were running a tape deck and wanted to miniize the capstan/motor noise...and maybe (?) mild guitar amp hiss...
...but if you're talking about a noise environment, cars, planes, trains or grass mowers and loud apartment neighbors..etc...it's not going to take it all out.

Also...it WILL make it sound like you recorded in a dry box, small box, because your vocals will have little place to go, and while the high frequencies might get absorbed by the foam the mids/lows will not, so they will be "trapped" in the box and you get a compressed sound (not the same as when using a compressor). IOW, the air pressure gets semi-trapped/squashed, IMO...if that makes any sense.