Increasing STC rating without increasing depth? (building a portable vocal booth)

KJI

Okay, here's my predicament:

I'm a college student who lives in a apartment complex with pretty thin walls. I'm also a home recordist (vocalist) who hasn't really had a chance to practice or record in the last year since moving out of my parents' house. It's killing me.

I've been toying with the idea of building a portable vocal booth for a while, and actually decided to google it a few months ago. I found this site and explored it a bit, but decided to wait until around the holidays to further investigate. I just recently got the chance to do a bit of research via google, this forum, and other various sites, so I now have most of the plans of what I want down.

1. Dimensions: I want my booth to be about 3.7'x3.1'x6.5'. I'm 5'10" myself, I've read enough to know not to make the dimensions multiples of each other, and the smaller it is the more portable it gets. However, I've read that too small and it starts to get boxy in addition to getting more cramped. Thus I think this would probably be the best size combo out of all.

2. Isolation: I don't really need to isolate sound (which would be impossible anyway), just decrease it enough. The end result is that I want it to not (or barely) be heard outside of my room. For example, if I scream inside the booth, it'll sound like low talking outside the booth, and maybe a murmur outside my room.

3. Design/materials: Portability is the key word for me. For one, I have to build it at home, then transport it 60+ miles to my apartment in/on my father's station wagon. I also plan keep it disassembled against a wall or something when not in use, and only set it up during weekends. Also, I might decide to take to friends houses or back home during holidays. Because of this I plan to have the panels lock together via metal clasps when in use, but they can be unlocked from one another when not in use.