I don't know what I'm doing

andrewj

Hi people.
Completely new to home recording so please go easy - and don't use big words! :confused:

I'm an amateur musician who would like to make some good quality home recordings. I have dabbled before, but only at a very basic level, and never really achieving the kind of sound that I wanted to.

I would like to record a variety of instruments & vocals, and at present will probably rarely want to record more than one instrument at a time (though it would be nice to have that option for the future).

I would like to get some decent quality gear that, as I grow a little more experienced, I won't just want/need to replace immediately. However, I'm also acutely aware that I am new to this - so neither do I want to waste hard earned money on gear that is unnecessary/beyond me.

I have a MacBook Pro that I was hoping to use, and planned to purchase Logic Pro X, which I will shortly start a short course on as well.
My real question was: what other gear should I purchase? What microphones and audio interface would you recommend? What midi keyboard?

Please excuse my very open questioning and lack of knowledge. I'm out of my depth.

Welcome! There is never a dumb question and your intro was just fine. The first thing we need to do is pump you for information. I know you already gave some but much more is needed.

1. What is your budget?
2. What is your recording environment like? (Bedroom, basement, condos, etc)
3. What are your future plans as far as expanding your audio gear? Will there be a time when you may want to record duets or 5 member groups?
4. Will you ever need to record on a location other than your home or office?
5. What is the year, make and model of your mac book as well as the installed memory/ram/hard drive space?

This will help others including myself help you without sending you down the rabbit hole where your money will surely magically vanish. :)

Also: