Homemade drum shields?

lumberintoad

Hey everyone,

I want to thank you for helping me out earlier in the year with deciding how to treat my live recording room in the basement, as I have recently received my 2'x4'x4" rigid fiberglass panels from ATS acoustics...will post pics soon!

However I have another question...I was wondering if plywood (about a quarter to a half inch thick) could serve as a set of DIY drum shield panels.

The thing is, our drummer has no money and I cannot afford to buy a $400 drum shield (made of that clear plexiglass stuff) since I am a guitarist and would rarely have use for it...plus I have quite a bit of plywood panels sitting in the garage that I could cut into similar sized panels at no cost...

Does this seem reasonable because I know wood is reflective and I would assume that the material drum shields are made of are reflective as well (correct me if I'm wrong) so would it be able to keep out instrument leakage into the drum mics and vice versa?

Any help would be appreciated...
Thanks
Trevor

lumberintoad said:
Hey everyone,

I want to thank you for helping me out earlier in the year with deciding how to treat my live recording room in the basement, as I have recently received my 2'x4'x4" rigid fiberglass panels from ATS acoustics...will post pics soon!

However I have another question...I was wondering if plywood (about a quarter to a half inch thick) could serve as a set of DIY drum shield panels.

The thing is, our drummer has no money and I cannot afford to buy a $400 drum shield (made of that clear plexiglass stuff) since I am a guitarist and would rarely have use for it...plus I have quite a bit of plywood panels sitting in the garage that I could cut into similar sized panels at no cost...