Home studio build help!

maxmercier

Hi!

I've been given a $600 budget to build a studio for my school. I'm going to be building a studio desk (which I've modeled in sketchup and will attach the photo), with a built in rack mount, but I need some help with my parts list.

I'm feel pretty confident with studio gear, as I've been recording off and on for over 5 years, but I'm struggling with a few crucial pieces.

So far this is what I have. Some opinions or alternate recommendations would be rad.

Mics:

1x Pyle PDMIC78 (already have 3, really like how they sound. Even more than the SM57 honestly).
1x MXL 990 (nice clear vocal mic, really sensitive, but vocals are crisp)
1x MXL 991 (great multipurpose small diaphragm condenser, especially for drum recording)

Mic Hardware:

1x pop filter
2x boom stands
4x drum mic clips

Interface:

This is where I'm having a tough time. I really love the look of the Behringer XENYX X2222 USB, because I think it would be awesome to have a semi-giant mixer sitting on the recording desk, and the audio and built in FX seem to sound pretty great.

The other option would be the Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, which is a much more "modern" firewire audio interface, with 8 focusrite mic preamps, and many many outputs. However, the only control you get over the raw input it volume level. Which isn't a huge problem, but having control over the different EQ levels would be nice.

The Pro 40 comes in at $279
The X2222 USB comes in at $249

Acoustic Dampening:

I'm buying a 24 pack of 1ft x 1ft square wall foam to place around the room to help with sound dampening. This also happens to be a fairly large room, so I will be looking into alternative dampening to complement the nicer wall foam.

Monitors

Mackie CR3s - very generic, but should work well.