HELP $3000 budget

sethlit

HI, first of all this is my first post so nice to meet ya all. Thanks for all of the great info here. okay,

MY setup is---PC,soundblaster live, cool edit pro, yamaha MG12/4 mixer with phantom, GT 55 (groove tubes) condenser mic without a preamp, 2 older dynamic mics (they sound okay not great), 3 pairs of headphones, computer speaks for monitors (but learned to get okay mix on them), and one main room (14'X12") with a smaller room attatched (6'x4').

Now here's my situation...I recently had a guy approach me about investing in $2000 to $3000 in my music and recording ventures. I am fairly new at the recording thing but an experienced musician. SO before I waste away that sorta money I NEED some advice from you guys.

My goal: to be able to record bands live and not track by track. Thanks ahead for any help!

seth

Let's start with your goal and work from there.

You say you want to record bands "live". First question, then, is whether you are wanting to do that in your current space? 14x12 is pretty cramped for a whole band, let alone whatever space gets taken up by your recording gear. You can use the smaller room for a vocal/isolation booth and remove one body from the tracking room, but it is still kinda small for a band. Additionally, in that small space you will get major bleed between instruments during simultaneous tracking. This is why most small project studios record track by track. It's OK to lay down a guide track of the whole band live, but you get cleaner and more manageable tracks (which result in better mixes) by recording them individually.