Gonna try and build some bass traps and treat my room as cheap as possible.

sausy1981

Hey guys, I'm gonna try and build some bass traps myself as I cant afford to buy any of the professional acoustic solutions as we've recently had a baby, and as any other father knows, babies cost a lot of money.
Anyway, I was gonna build some wooden frames, fill them with some attic/loft insulation and wrap in bed sheet, and these would be my bass traps, Which I would hang in the corners and at the point were the wall meets the ceiling, would these be sufficent? or is loft insulation not useful for this?

Secondly I work as a mechanic for a bus company and we throw out foam filters all the time, I was gonna bring some of these foam filters home to use as dampeners, They are roughly 8 inches by 12 inches and about 2 inches thick, They wouldnt be as dense as acoustic foam. I was wondering if I got a sheet of 4 mm thick hard board approx. 3ft by 3ft, and glued these foam filters to it would it work, I would obviousy layer them so the 3ft by 3ft board would have 3 foam filters stacked on top? Would these stop early reflections.

I would really prefer to be able to go out and buy the proper professional acoustic solutions but unfortunately I just can't,
Am I pissin against the wind? and if so what are my options.
As always thanks for your help.

You want some of this:

Universal Slab (Rock)

RS45 at least 100mm thick for bass traps, 50mm thick for broadband absorbers. Make sure you can breathe through any fabric you wrap them in. I think the foam you mention will only be good for mid to high frequencies. Probably similar with the loft insulation rolls as its not as dense (unless you squash it into thick layers, perhaps?).

I am by no means an expert. Do research in this forum and check out articles posted by Ethan Winer.

Thanks dude,