Garage Studio - A Few Questions

MetroCenter

Pint o' Guinness, please.
Hi All,

I have a few questions for those of you with more knowledge than me. I am not new to recording, but I am new to recording as a "serious hobby". :)

I am carving out a modest amount of space from my already modest garage, for studio stuff. I will not be doing professional work (only recording my own creations), but would still like to make the best recordings I can.

I will be recording drums, vocals, bass guitar, electric guitar, and acoustic guitar. I will also do all my mixing here. Music will range from classic rock to folk rock to "indie rock".

Total garage: 18x18. Studio space: 12x12.

My "recording desk" is a Metro commercial shelving rack (6' tall x 3' wide x 18" deep). Kinda like this but taller. This rack is big enough to hold
  • my mixing/recording console and preamps
  • my MicroKorg keyboard
  • my drum machine
  • all my other outboard gear (on top in a 19" rack)
  • all my microphones, cables and headphones.
This rack is on locking rubber casters, so I can easily move it to other locations as needed (near drum kit, or into the house for vocals). It doesn't appear to make any noise while I perform, but I wonder if there are any other possible side-effects of the wire in the rack.

Monitors will stand on DIY stands, made of PVC filled with sand.

So here are my questions:

1. I was thinking of covering the concrete-slab floor with "anti-fatigue mats" available at the local OSH. They appear to be rubber or some similar material. This should be an improvement over concrete, right? Does anybody have any better ideas for the floor?
  2. In terms of bass traps, I understand the corners are the top priorities. Is this correct?
  3. The walls are uninsulated drywall over standard framing. Is there any benefit to adding Auralex foam squares to the walls? Or am I better off with more bass traps?
  4. Any thoughts on the Metro racks?

Thanks in advance for your tips! ;)