Foam Placement!

mattimus

ok.. my bands have been rehearsing in the back room of my dads companies office for a year or so now. and after cleaning out the ajoining storage room i realized although not ideal, it would make a good control room. so after begging and begging, my father has aproved me turning the back room into a recording studio... its a nice sized space... my live room is 17ftx20ft and my control room is 6ftx7ft. so construction starts soon (all the walls are there and i cant add or subtract physical walls.. just putting a window in and soundproof and such) i used to work as a producer at rogers televison(local cable cominuty television station) i stole a heap of studio foam when they renovated there studio. ok.. im sorry for the rant.. but the main part of the story is i dont know where to put the majority of the foam.. do i focus on isolating my tiny control room and just hang heavy curtains on the walls in the live room so sound doesn't bounce off the walls or do i use the foam to dampen the live room and fuck the control room? i will attach a picture of the amount of foam i stole (basicly i stole everything that could safely fit in my windstar before the station manager got back from lunch)

any help would be great thanks (also.. im planing to out in a window on the north wall of the control room facing the main live room)

Attachments

• studio foam pile2.jpg
    studio foam pile2.jpg
    54.4 KB · Views: 120
  • studio layout3.jpg
    studio layout3.jpg
    50.8 KB · Views: 66
hey! to my defense.. all the foam was supposed to be thrown out... i just took a bunch before they tossed it. if you knew the station manager youd know hes a cheap schmuck and he would rather see the stuff in the trash than in the hands of a hardworking employee...

and also to my defense a senior producer and a reporter were helping me fill my van with it :)