FOAM: A Four letter word...

dudernut

Hello everyone,

I am still fairly new to recording, but in recent weeks, I have been trying to expand my knowledge of acoustics and how I can make my one car garage work for me on my recordings and band practice. Last year, when we were setting the place up, we had little funds or knowledge to successfully work out the acoustics of the room. I had access to an enormous amount of carpet that I used to cover the walls and ceiling. We left the concrete floor and have two large rugs. I have since learned that all carpet and does is kill the high end. I had wanted (as many newbies do) go out and buy a shitton of foam and go to town, thinking perhaps I could place an occasional plywood panel to get natural reverb where we want it. I am SOOO glad I did not have the money to start that endeavor, because I am learning that most professional recording engineers steer clear away from foam. I am planning to make some rockwool gobos soon for at least monitoring and catching some of the lows in practice, but it will be a few weeks at least before I can start that.

So here are my questions:

Does foam offer any any value to a recording setup at all? Currently, the only place I am using it is a curved piece of packaging foam behind my vocal condenser (similar to those ridiculously overpriced mic isolators at GC).

Is my carpet hurting more than helping I realize that only I or someone who enters the room can really answer that, but is the idea something that anyone here would have even considered? My other option would be to take it all down and put new sheetrock (or wood?).

Should I leave one side of the gobos reflective? Perhaps it would be useful to create some reverb for drum recordings.