First step - thoughts on studio location

rfalcon

I have two basement choices - similar in size, one finished one not.

Finished basement, which currently houses my photo studio, is 14x22, 8' ceiling, with an attached 8x14 finished room (currently housing my wife's weight machine).

IMG_1026.jpg
IMG_1032.jpg
IMG_1024.jpg
IMG_1031.jpg

The unfinished side is 14x20, 8' ceiling, but is adjacent to the furnace (noise)

IMG_1027.jpg
IMG_1025.jpg

I have my own thoughts, but would like to hear observations, pros and cons, from those more experienced than I. Just for information, I am a capable builder, but would like to avoid tearing down walls lol. The two areas are not really adjacent - end to end mostly, with a 3' hall space between (entrance to unfinished basement is to the left of staircase in the finished photo showing desktop).

Appreciate any thoughts.

Pardon the mess i the photos lol. Been remodelling...

Personally, I would move the photo studio next to the heater (photo/video is not going to be ruined by the fan turning on), move the weight machine to the same area (maybe drywall and paint up the space first). Then make yourself a nice studio with the attached control room. If the cabinets can be removed without damage, they could be moved as well (or demolished if you don't want them). Then comes the fun of room treatment! :rolleyes:

I would take your photo studio and dual purpose it. Treat it for sound, use the weight room for more isolated recording if needed, move weight room to the area where that is closer to the heater. The heater kicking on and off is going to be a big problem.