Er - Stud my IO? (blush)

TatterJack

A friend once told me I had a perfect face for radio. Of course, with friends like mine, who needs enemas, right? But still - maybe not face, and maybe not radio, but he made me wonder if he had a point.
Oh. Right. A point - as in, having one. I knew I had one lying round here somewh... ah! There it is!
I'm an author. Actually I'm not - I guess like no few in the field, I'm more 'authors'. Because yes, there are covers out there with my name on them. And there are other covers 'out there', with a different name on - and they're mine too. But that wasn't it - the 'point' thing, I mean. Because electronic or paper, they're still books. And for a while I've wanted to try to find out if they could be audiobooks as well - some, perhaps, with my Voice as well as my name.
I know. It's not that easy (blush). But neither's sex the first time - but that never put anyone off trying, right?
So, recognising I have no knowledge, skills or experience in the field, I didn't know whether the best approach was to get some useable equipment, try it out in the available environment, then work out what sound conditioning was possible/ needed - or the other way round. My gut - and trust me, it's a damn big one, so I tend to listen - says no. It's the other way round. Do what I can to condition the environment, _then_ worry about equipment with whatever budget is left. Also recognising, of course, I have a budget that would make church mice feel rich - sigh.
So if it's not too much like trying to be a smart-ass and asking for free consultancy services (which is pretty much what I'm doing - I guess I'm just hoping you-all don;t notice :-( ), I thought I'd come alon g here and seek your collective wisdom, based on the research (also known as 'guessing') I've done so far.
Here's a case summary:

THE ENVIRONMENT: