Drum Riser

Shout It Out

Can I get any help on how t obuild a floating drum riser...My basic idea is to build a 6'x6' platform from 2'x4's and nail them on top of a low wooden frame. on the bottom of the wooden frame I would put 4'' foam blocks to isolate the kit from the floor...Does this idea work at all??/Will it improve the sound of my drums in recordings??

I'm no expert on this, but the risers I've seen at www.johnlsayers.com are heavily weighted with sand or something else to keep it from resonating.

There is also an Auralex product (called platfoam or something) that purports to do this.

If you build a hollow box it will sound like a hollow box.

The idea of a drum riser in a studio is to decouple the drum sounds from the floor. My guess is that if you have a floor that's transmitting a lot of vibration, a riser might help.

There's an awful lot of commercial studios (majority? dunno) that don't bother with risers.

Best of luck

i thought a drum riser prevent the drums from sounding dead. Ive heard that drums on carpet just suck the life out of them. So the riser is kind of preventative.

well isolating the drums fro mthe existing floor will give the drums more life, I jsut dont know if my construction plans would work in doing that. Last studio I recorded in used a drum riser and it sounded very nice.

Its the same principle as mounting soffit enclosed speakers on a stand of MASS.

Build a frame of 2x4/6 Cover bottom with 3/4"OSB

Mount these or 1/2" x 2"x2" Duro 60 neoprene pads at 2' intervals
http://www.kineticsnoise.com/hvac/kip.html

Lay on floor at desired location.

Lay a sheet of 6mil poly sheeting over top allowing 1 ft overhang at perimeter.

Fill will KILN DRIED sand. Screed off excess with a board longer than frame size.

Cover with another layer of 6mil poly

Lay 3/4" OSB or plywood on top and fasten to frame with screws. Voila!