Cable routing into new studio build

thegalleons

Hi I'm currently nearing the end of my studio build and need to run the power, ethernet and some audio cables into the studio from outside.

I should have had them going through the concrete base when I put that down but I've never done this before and it's a bit late now! The construction is a concrete base then a layer of concrete blocks, then a wooden framed structure clad with two layers of 18mm ply, and pallet wood. It's insulated with rockwool, celotex and two layers of sound blocking plasterboard on resbar.

The current plan is for the cable to enter through a small hole I've drilled where two concrete blocks meet at a 45 degree angle at the base. Because the blocks meet at an angle there is quite a large gap as illustrated in the picture attached.

Do people have any ideas on what I should use to fill this gap to keep sound leakage to an absolute minimum whilst also protecting the cables.

The armoured cable should be fine but I've got three XLRS and an ethernet cable. My current plan is to wrap them in gaffer tape where they go through the block to protect them a bit and then fill the gap with pebbles set in mortar.

I could try and put it all in a small pipe and then fill the pipe with expanding foam or something else but I am concerned this would be less effective soundproofing wise.

Alternatively I could try and fill the gap with something else, I've been doing some research to try and find something dense and soundproof(ish) but that might be less harsh on the cable than concrete, something a bit rubbery for example? The gap is between 15 and 20 cm wide at it's widest point, the blocks are standard size. Any ideas or thoughts on my ideas would be welcome.

Many thanks, Ben

Attachments

• IMG_20171022_120802353.jpg
    IMG_20171022_120802353.jpg
    1.2 MB · Views: 24