Building a recording booth in walk-in closet for voice over work

drcane

New here. I'm just beginning to get into some voice over work. Didn't want to spend a load of cash on my initial setup. I do have a nice rectangular walk-in closet that I've seen others use to much success. I did a quick test recording and I think it's a good start. Definitely hearing some echo. Here's a link to take a listen. https://soundcloud.com/drcane/closet-test

I know I should put some foam on the door and one section of wall to the right of the mic. Here's some pics of the space with the mic.

Closet left: iBpB2oa.jpg
Closet behind: WWBZQGE.jpg
Closet front: kPlb3XV.jpg

Any tips on what I should get exactly on a budget?

I have a bunch of these garage floor mats. Was thinking of wrapping them in a heavy blanket then attaching them to the wall. Anti-Fatigue Foam Mat Set 4 Pc

50 bucks for this pack of 12 foam squares wouldn't be too bad and should cover both areas well. Amazon.com: Silverback Sound Dampening Foam, 2 Inch Thick, 1ft x 1ft, 12 Pack: Musical Instruments

Should I wrap the immediate area in front of the mic with foam? The scarfs seem to dampen the sound pretty well already..

Thanks!

Drcane,
Save your money and forego the "foam". You need sound absorption. So save your money and do a proper acoustic treatment. The closet booth was my original recording studio too, so I understand 'it'll have to do until....." For ideas of what is possible, watch the video in the "Hearing is Believing" thread that DM60 posted.