Building Home Studio

bloeff

Hi all,

Newbie here. Thanks for having me! I am currently converting a mobile home :facepalm: (I know) bedroom into a recording studio. I am a singer only and have no plans to record anything but vocals. If I need instrumentals in the future I will simply create MIDI files.

My first step was to take my plan to several builders and engineers to see if the project was feasible in terms of live and dead loads. One man was kind enough to print an engineering sheet showing that the plan will exceed all building codes. Since I've never done anything like this before, I'm going a step further and installing support pillars under the outriggers under the mobile home - just for my peace of mind!

The dimensions of the room are 13' x 13' x 87" high. At this point the room is down to studs, insulation, and subfloor. I'm planning on putting up 2 layers of 1/2" drywall with GG in between all around the perimeter of the room. Next, I'm going to build a room within a room with 25 guage steel stud framing with the base and top plates 3" in. First of a multitude of questions - I've read 1" to 3" - any reason to choose anything particular in that range? I'm planning on leaving the outside of the inner room unfinished and finishing the inside of the inner room with 2 layers of 1/2" drywall with GG in between and filling the gap with insulation - or whatever you recommend. I haven't seen that configuration online. I think it qualifies as decoupled. Will this result in a decent STC rated room or do I need to finish the outside of the inner room?