Which brand of resilient clips?

tombarton

I'm parting out my build and I see a massive difference in pricing on resilient clips. Based in Australia, but these eBay examples show:

1) Cheap option (Australian no-name brand)
2) SUPER cheap option (Australian no-name brand)
3) Premium option (Pliteq GenieClips)

I suspect that you get what you pay for, like everything especially audio, so I would be tempted to go for the expensive option. However, visually the clips look so similar. Can it be that the premium brands are just better marketed?

You very often don't get what you pay for and i think this is one of those times.

The 'premium' clip charges more, most probably, for certification and compliance (I do this for a living, BTW, so I might be biased.:rolleyes:)
Notice how the description lists UL approval, etc. The clip proper may be little or no different in performance, but the presence of certification, depending on country and oversight agency, might be VERY expensive. Also, it might be an 'architecturally specified' item where you, as a DIYer can use whatever you want, but an institution, or <gasp> government job, cannot. They must use things that are 'approved' - which always comes with a price.

As they don't seem to list the material or durometer of the isolation insert, chances are excellent that each of the affordable choices is as good as the next. Put it this way, if I needed to plant my flag on the spot to spend money, this wouldn't be it.

Indeed, the number 1 mistake made in the use of these things are simply using too darned many. Folks often forget that these are not structural and simply suspend panels, so I've seen similar items used at 4X what they actually needed. As every isolator is a noise path, using too many can be as bad as not using them at all. Just a thought.

Ponder5