booth like this

We all do in the end FitZ.
Well, after reading some of my crudgmudgen posts, at least you'll know what NOT to become.:rolleyes:btw, I'm trying to be a good member now.:D

I'm turning 40 in two months.
Hey Frank, compared to me you're still a pup!:p Although I'd submit, compared to most of the newbies...you're already over the hill and I've got one foot in the grave! Hahahahahaha!

Well, after reading some of my crudgmudgen posts, at least you'll know what NOT to become.:rolleyes:btw, I'm trying to be a good member now.:D

And it is a sterling job you're doing!

I remain in awe of the level of detail to which you go . . it is clearly a topic for which you have a great affinity!

The thing is... and I'm a newbie here so I don't know anyone, OR their reps... the thing is this; You go to Sam Ash or Guitar Center or (insert music megamart here) and see all the sound treatment stuff they sell, and it's all stuff like Auralex acoustic foam. They're great for standing waves and flutter echos, two of the biggest problems home recordists face. So I don't understand the outright bashing of them in a forum about home recording. However, as was pointed out, bass traps are the other part - Auralex recommends you use their acoustic foam WITH bass traps if you want to tame the whole room.

Adding to the confusion is that fact that some companies sell fiberglass panels that sorta LOOK like the typical foam stuff. :)

My own experience has taught me that if I sing in a little teeny "foam room," it's going to be all lows and mids and I'm going to have to do hardcore eq to fix it. It's better when there's some "air." I like to try to get air as well as kill the standing waves, etc.

Just tossing in my 3 cents.