Bare mininum "treating" for a room?

joey2000

I plan to record in a medium-sized bedroom. It is furnished however and occasionally used so I can't go nuts on treatment. What would you consider the bare minimum? For ex. I plan to put up something to cover the uncovered windows (blankets probably). The room is carpeted.

My room is not treated, but I've read enough on here to tell you to start with bass traps in the corners. I'll let the others build on it from there. :)

Are you only tracking in the room, or are you mixing too? What are you recording? (vocals, acoustic guitar, amp?) WHat do you have for mics?

Well for starters it's a digital piano only direct, so none of this will matter but I may add a mic at most (just me), prompting the question. Don't have a mic yet. Basically I want this to sound "good" but I'm not a pro and not expecting it to dazzle and amaze.

I've read about treatments but I'm not up for throwing foam this or that all over the place :)

I've found the bare minimum in just about any room to be a dozen 2'x4'x4" broadband traps. All four corners (8) and four high-side corners centered on the mix position. Minimum.** That won't make a "really" bad room great by any means (12x12x8 for example - although it will certainly make a marked improvement), but it's (IME) a nearly universal starting point to make a non-really-bad space somewhat usable.

** For the record, I have around 3x that mass and I'm still figuring out ways to add more.

Well for starters it's a digital piano only direct, so none of this will matter but I may add a mic at most (just me), prompting the question. Don't have a mic yet. Basically I want this to sound "good" but I'm not a pro and not expecting it to dazzle and amaze.

I've read about treatments but I'm not up for throwing foam this or that all over the place :)