Alternative recording locations

zoroaster

Hello everybody,

I'm new to the forum, although I've been lurker for a long while. I'm not sure whether I'm posting this in the right place, or whether it should be on this forum at all, given that my question is somewhat more of a real-estate one than a technical recording one. However, I'm desperately looking for ideas and suggestions, and I'm sure someone must have had similar problems. So:

I've been playing around with home recording for 5-6 years. I have a nice little setup with a mac, a couple of decent mics, and good headphones and some extra gear. This is more than good for the precision level I'm operating on right now. Most of my stuff is based on acostic guitars and vocals. Nothing very loud, but loud enough to be the source my current problems.

Due to being a grad student with little money, I have always lived in shared houses, and there is a problem with sound leakage. My house also has jalousie windows, which provide exactly zero sound isolation. The leakage from my housemates is a problem, but I am mostly concerned about the other way around. My housemates are tolerant enough, but they are not musicians and I am sensing a growing (yet undisclosed) annoyance. I am also a hopelessly self-consious vocalist, and I have huge problems doing anything knowing that anybody is listening. My creative process is very much that of getting completely immersed in a project, ideally for 6-8 hours at a time, typically writing, practicing and recording interchangeably. I have no problem understanding that this can be quite a pain to listen to from a neighboring room.