Advice Needed! Building Home Studio

RockinRobert

Hello all, I am a newbie to this site. I need advice on the best way to plan my home studio. I don't need much advice on the equipment side of things, but the physical building and soundproofing of the studio itself.
I am starting with a brand new garage ( already built),with an alotted space of 14' x 28' for my studio. It will have a separate control room within this area. I need to know, should I build a floor on top of the concrete? Or just cover the concrete...I'm worried about moisture problems. Can I soundproof enough for a demo studio with the standard wall thickness of 3 1/2 inches? Do I need a wall inside the walls with an air gap in between? I don't wanna go extravagant, just a good home studio capable of some serious demo work with other bands. I will be PC based as far as recording goes. What is the best stuff to use in the walls for insulation/soundproofing?
I really appreciate any and all advice from all of you. I will take it all in and digest it. I will begin later this fall on this project with a spring completion date planned.
So once again, thanks for ANY help/advice. It's nice to have a place like this to chew the fat :-) Lets Rock

first off, you have a huge resource infront of you. read throgh ALL the posts in this forum about building. and then you will probably have some more ideas. personally the last 2/3 months have had the best info on building. so make sure you check those atleast if you dont want to read back further. then go out and buy a book. if you are willing to spend $4000 on construction then $40 for some books is more then a good investment. take alook at John Sayers diagrams and learn about acoustic, and how frequencies are transmitted and aborbed differently. If you are worried about moisture a well planned HVAC system even if small will be a good investment. and in the end. take your time.