16x20 Studio Shed Help

fivesixonesk8er

I'm in the planning stages of building a 16x20 studio in the backyard. It's going to be equipped with a 16x12 tracking room, a 12x8 control room, and a 8x4 iso booth.

If anyone could point me in the right direction of the right materials to somewhat "Soundproof" the walls, and other materials at a good price would really help me out. I am somewhat new to the studio building and design aspect but I am definitely willing to learn!

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

You need to soundproof the whole room - not just the walls. The structure needs to be decoupled and the inner surfaces need to have a lot of mass to them. All cavities are filled with insulation. All openings (switches, outlets, lights, etc.) need to be isolated by mass boxes or at a minimum putty pads and caulk.

HVAC is also a huge source of sound transmission.

How you accomplish the above is specific to your situation, what the room allows, the budget, existing construction, etc.

Bryan

Thanks bpape.

I need to know where I can find the materials for sound proof insuation and other suggestions on sound Treatment and Isolation at a good price.... Anyone?

Also, my budget is about $5000 or under for the interior.

I'm in the planning stages of building a 16x20 studio in the backyard. It's going to be equipped with a 16x12 tracking room, a 12x8 control room, and a 8x4 iso booth.

If anyone could point me in the right direction of the right materials to somewhat "Soundproof" the walls, and other materials at a good price would really help me out. I am somewhat new to the studio building and design aspect but I am definitely willing to learn!

Any help would be greatly appreciated.