Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread: Type of glass to use for booth "window"?

studiogenocide is offline Country Boy Gone Digital

Type of glass to use for booth "window"?

Sign in to disable this ad
    I was wondering if anyone had any ideas on the glass for the "window" into the recording booth. I am studying a 3/8" thick window glass @ 2' x 5'. I didn't know if plexiglass was better, and I cannot seem to find any info on it. Any help is appreciated!

deejaytrixx is offline Analog? What's that?
    Quote Originally Posted by studiogenocide View Post
    I was wondering if anyone had any ideas on the glass for the "window" into the recording booth. I am studying a 3/8" thick window glass @ 2' x 5'. I didn't know if plexiglass was better, and I cannot seem to find any info on it. Any help is appreciated!
    Check Table 3 on this page
    http://www.eplastics.com/Plastic/Pla...oise-Reduction

In my humble experience, 3/8" glass is really thick and heavy...You will have to put heavier headers to hold it in place...but you can achieve the same noise reduction with a piece of plexi which will be thinner and lighter in comparison at the same reduction thresholds.

DrumArtist23 is offline Senior Member
    I am putting in a 3'hx6'w double plexi window in my studio. Did you use double stud build on your booth? If so, how wide is your air space between the two walls?

Using the two window approach is not easy, especially when you try to do it on a budget, but you can pick up plexi at a much better price for the size required. I called a glass company in my home town to check costs of having them do the 3x6 in glass and to install it. They quoted me over $1K... Plexi can work, but you will want to make sure you dont get two sheets that are identical in thickness. (I don't know exactly why, but it is all over the boards here).