Small room, bad walls and other problems

-sx11-

Hi, my name is Sam
I'm new here and as I said before I'm an "experienced newbie" lol
By the way, here it is,
I have some sort of experience in mixing (I've worked for some studios here in my country) but I moved to a bigger city and I now live in a flat with another guy.
The walls of this flat are literally paper and the room acoustic, well, you can figure it out yourself (I can almost hear the neighbours talking) but I don't wanna give up mixing!
My budget is not that high, like 300$
So, is better for me to buy some nearfields (I need some monitors that can work well even with a small amount of volume) or to buy some decent headphones and maybe in the future a decent preamp?
(I'm not a native english speaker, I beg you pardon)

$300 will get you a half-decent set of monitors in the US (not sure where you are or what prices are) like the JBL LSR305 - but they won't do you much good unless you treat your room acoustically - bass traps, so chances are you may do better at this stage with a good set of headphones.

Agreed. Headphones are your best bet in a small, untreated space with too thin walls to keep the sound in. You'll just need to learn to take your mixes to sources and learn how to adjust from those sources: meaning play your mixes in your car, through the house stereo, etc. listening for problems in the sound. This is a good technique for anyone, but is necessary when mixing with headphones as certain things can be missed without the interaction of both ears in the room...

Thank you so much!
Any advice on some models?
A friend of mine told me about the Grado 125i, for example.
Should I go for some closed-back or open-back?
Thank you (again) in advance, you guys are great!

Models, how about Candice Swanepoel or Doutzen Kroes? They might be a little high maintenance, though...