Renovating my closet into a recording booth for voiceover - help needed

Jeremy King

Hello, all!

I've been contributing voice acting to a number of passion projects and video game mods for some time, and I'm looking to acoustically treat my closet. I'm a college student currently living at home, and my recording situation is less than ideal; my house has horrid soundproofing, I live next to a fairly noisy church, my room directly faces the street, and I have single-pane windows which allow sound to easily bleed in. Every surface in my room (ceiling excluded) is hardwood.

A while back I moved my mic into my closet and was generally pleased with the immediate difference in my recordings. For a long time I had been recording under a thick blanket in my room, but noise would still bleed in fairly regularly. Recording in my closet yielded quieter results with less effort, and my recent purchase of the CAD e100s condenser mic made my recordings quieter still -- my typical noisefloor level tends to gravitate around -50db, with my quietest recordings somewhere around -60db or so.

My issue lies primarily in a consistently muddy low end. I have a naturally low voice, and recording in a tight closet space with parallel walls hasn't done me any favors. I'm not sure what the exact dimensions of my closet are, but if I had to give it a rough estimate, I'd say maybe 80x80 square feet. Maybe less.

I currently record with the mic adjacent to a wall with the closet door facing my right and a number of coats hanging directly behind me. To the left of the the mic I have clothing hanging up -- I tried parting the clothes in the middle and placing my mic with the clothing to both sides but found that this only aggravated my current acoustic woes.

I also have large metal brackets for additional storage, which I'm sure just makes things worse.

Just like my room, the closet is entirely hardwood.