How bad can lyrics get?

rayc

retroreprobate
I was wondering about this & I don't mean the trite pap that pop often uses.
For some reason I listened to some Byron era Uriah Heep tonight. A band I could not get into as a kid or adult and I wanted to find out why. The answer was clear & uncomplicated when I listened tonight.
Their lyrics were utter rubbish. Even given the Dungeon & Dragons theme in general - & there're a lot of band who do/did use those ideas, Heeps lyrics were a stinking HEAP or URIAH & Do Do.
Even as I managed to get along with some of those riffs I get hammered back to reality by the banality and plain awfulness of the stories, the rhymes and the language.
Any similar experiences with other bands/artists/performers who were considered important, deep etc.?

Haven't heard any Uriah Heap for decades but I ahd a friend who had a lot of thier stuff. I never paid much attention to the lyrics, just the riffs, as I was a budding but sucky guitarist.

I've seen bands that I think lyrics are bad, but some how they work. The Cars come to mind, Talking Heads lyrics seem strange, and yet I really like them.

About the only Uriah Heep album I really ever listened to was Sweet Freedom. The rest of their stuff just was, well hard to really listen too.

Dio,
Yep, always seemed to try hard to be deep but came across as pompous and silly.
Cars,
They had some clever/sharp lyrics but they often seemed to try for clever/kooky.
Talking Heads,
Often strange or oblique but clever, insightful and strange.
Queen often had meaningless lyrics early on - or attempts at fairieland/fey, (mostly freddy) but then Brighton Rock, Liar, Flick of the Writs proved that they could be clever and catchy too.

Maybe it's because I consider myslef a song writer - but I really focus on lyrics - and I've found that lyrics tend to fall into a couple of categories (at least based on my personal assessment