Song Arrangement (Instrumentation) Chart Template Suggestions??

MMMllc

Hello,

I'm new to to forum, so thank you to all.

I'm working on getting more organized about my song writing from the get go and started to write out long hand a chart where I will indicate each element that is going to be played during each section of a song.

For example. Verse 1. Vocal, Clean Guitar, Acoustic Guitar, Bass, Drums.
And I'll have these all in a vertical column and then the next column would for example be Chorus 1....and then list all the elements playing in that section.

So, finally, my question:

Just wondering if anyone else out there is doing something like that and if there might be any templates online of simple charts that could be used in Word, or Adobe or any other simple software.

If not, maybe a suggestion on how to go about creating a very simple chart?

Thank you so much in advance.

Mike

You can do that simply by creating a table in Word or Excel.

Personally I have not felt a great need to be that methodical. However, when I have had occasion to plan more carefully, I've just scribbled it out on a bit of paper.

Thanks Gecko,

I find that it helps me out when I'm getting ready to record something for keeps. When I don't do this I end up with 127 tracks (mostly guitars).
Thank you!

I've never done that. I'll add or take away parts all the time, based on what I think the song needs. It usually never develops the way you intended, and the song in your head can be a little different than how it comes out on record. Therefore, planning on making adjustments is a good thing. Be willing to scrap that 4th guitar - if it saves the mix.

If this were regarding a pro engineer making a living off of clients music, then yes, I could understand needing to write everything out. But for writing and composing your own tunes, not so much. Just my opinion.

I never do that either.