Lyrics & Song

Darren1664

Hello there

I am new around here so do feel cheeky making my first post a lyric critique but I suppose I have to start somewhere.

BTW - I am very new to home recording and I used to be so naive to it all. The work that goes in to creating a good sounding song is immense so well done to all those that do it!

Any way...Lyrics and a poorly recorded Soundcloud version of the song. Thanks in advance :)

Almighty above, he came down below
but didn't know how it felt to feel so alone
and so he felt for himself the highs and the lows
the peaks and the troughs and the knocks and the blows.

And this world that we live in was no place for him
so he went back to heaven to start again
to rethink the rules and the laws of his land
and to give us some slack within his command.

Because humans we are and humans we'll be
we all make mistakes eventually
there's not one of us perfect, no one a saint
not one of us that's worthy to pass through those gates.

And why would we try?
If the mountains too steep and too high to climb
you can't blame us for stopping with so far to go
can't blame us for turning to head back below.

And so lonely one night he comes to me
and says 'Darren just be the best you can be
because it's all that I ask now and all that I need
as I've been there myself and I know how it feels

To love, lose, smile and bruise
to hurt, fear and succumb to booze
and to worry for money, shelter and food
and to pray for help and for god to refuse.

https://soundcloud.com/user-41129754/almighty-above

All the best

Darren

Hi and welcome to the forum :)

I very much like the lyrics and the subject, the guitar arrangement is well presented and support well the songs. listened to it 3 times, the guitar on the risght could come up a bit as there is some very nice touch that could be emphasize at time on the quiet parts.