Hello people, new member, would love some feedback on a tune

Alan Hickey

Hello people, here's the tune:

Link to song on SC

https://soundcloud.com/alan-hickey-3/desert-river-demo-alan-hickey

I'm new to singing, only started a year ago when I picked up a guitar again out of boredom (after not playing for a decade) but I've written a ton of songs and not really sure if I should bother recording them.

It's not my best performance, it was done in one take because I've got to do it again when I can afford a better guitar (I'm using a Yamaha FG 403ms and I'm saving up for a Guild M120). But I would love some feedback, I posted this demo elsewhere and as of yet no-one's replied.

If you've got any tips on anything I'd love to hear them, I have a thick skin.

Edited to add the lyrics if you're interested and can't hear past my nasaly Nottingham accent.

The Desert river's calling out to me
Its ripples etched upon my brain
Fed by a lonely mountain stream
Bringing hope where none remains
Bringing life into the desert sands
Among the war and the ruin
The people 'round it do a dusty dance
Just like they don't know what they're doing

I watched you from the helicopter rear
A cloud of dust obscures my view
Devastation laying
Here and there
Our plight is nothing to do with you

Will you still be here in a thousand years?
When the dam above you turns to dust
And all the people pack their things and leave
And all their guns all turn to rust

Last edited:
I'm not sure why no one else has commented yet. This is beautiful, man. I love it. If you really only started singing a year ago, then I hate you! :) I think you've got a great voice -- very comforting and a great tone.