can ANYONE learn to sing?

billiambrasky

I've been practicing for 2 years or so now. I'm showing very little improvement. It sucks! I'm getting kinda impatient. But one thing I wanna know iis. Will my voice change? I mean. My voice sounds horriblible. It seems like even if I could hit any note I wanted and be pitch perfect. The sound of my voice is just horrible. Will it get better? Or a, I just a damn unlucky bastard blessed with a shitty voice? Any. Feedback is appreciated. Thanks -spaaaannnceee!

Wow, with this much info it's real, difficult actually, to answer your question. Your age, kind of song you want sing, you know the real details.

I've been practising singing for about... 4 years now. But for me, the first 2-3 years were pretty loose, practise-wise. And I didn't see much improvement. I could hit some notes, but in general I hated my voice. Late 09 I made a schedule, practising almost every day. And well... the results came surprisingly fast. Although I still have some days where I'm not particularly fond of my voice, the bulk of days I'm pleased and feel like I'm still improving in tiny bits every day. So, from my experience, I would say that anyone can learn to sing, you just have to practice more (often).

Being a good singer and having a good voice are not necessarily the same thing.

For example, I'm a fairly decent singer, but my voice ain't nothin' to write home about. But I can blend fairly well, so I have sung a lot of backup in the bands I've played in.

But I leave the lead singing to those who, while perhaps not as skilled as I am, are more gifted than I am...

It really depends on a lot of factors, mate. I knew a guy in college who, when singing acapella, had a great voice. But put him with a band / backing track / even duetting with another singer, the guy was HIDEOUSLY tone-deaf.