I want to record using a tablet. Advice?!

rbnalv7

I want to know if using a tablet to record on the go (acoustic guitar and vocals) is a good idea. Also want to expirt audio files to my pc for pro tools. Any suggestions on hiw to go about this. Budget wise u dont know. Cheap but still reliable

Relatively new here, and little experience with home recording, but you can record to a tablet. not sure how the results would compare with something more sophisticated. Depends on the tablet, I guess. Need a USB microphone, and an inline adaptor for the guitar. I've no experience with the last. I've used a Yeti USB mic. i suppose you could also use the mic to record from the guitar or it's amp. My iPad comes with Garageband, which works. Fir the iPad, you'd also need a powered USB connector to power the mic; the iPad USB won't do so. Hopefully someone with more experience jumps in.

you can get decent recording with an ipad just using the built in mic. If you take time and position the ipad correctly with the mic end facing you. There are also usb adaptors/camera kit that allows you to use pretty much any usb mic, but as the other guy mentioned you need to use a powered USB hub, as the ipad cannot supply enough power. There are a couple of mics that can be powered directly from the ipad..google search "ipad microphones". Also these days theres plenty of dedicated devices that allow you to place you ipad into the device and then you have preamps and jacks that will let you plug in your guitar and mics. Pretty any software you use on an ipad has the ability to output in aif, wave, ogg or mp3.