Why am I getting distortion on vocals?

dmc777

I'm using a MXL990 Condenser mic powered by a Behringer UB802 Phantom powered mixer into my Fostex Mr8. The levels aren't reaching but to about -5 but when a listened there is still some clipping/distortion on the vocals. I'm using a homemade pop filter. Could the pop filter or sensitivity levels on the mic be causing this? The mics on 5 days old.also, is it pretty necessary to have a compressor and limiter when doing vocals? All I have is a mxr dynacomp stompbox.

When you say the levels are only reaching about -5, where are you talking about? They might reach only -5 on your recorder, but could be distorting anywhere else in the chain. If the input of your pre-amp is too high, it could be distorting right at the source. Or the output of the pre-amop might be too gih, which would be distorting the input of your recorder. Make sure you check every step of the chain.

Well I'm still pretty new to this so I'm not really sure RAMI. I do know the mic doesn't have a roll of swith but my 993 pencil condenser does. What are these switches usually used for? I can tell you that I put the gain and Level up on my mixer and the trim on the mr8 about half way. Could the level clip on the mixer but not the recorder?

by roll off switch i assume you're talking about a low frequency roll-off.. i doubt this would solve your problem adequately..

those are just to cut the bass out.

just set every level you got to dead silent and turn it all up slowly just until you can hear the mic. i hope you don't have a bad mic.. sometimes mics can pop and click when they have been damaged. but i'm not experienced enough to judge that without hearing it.

Here's what you should do....Getting proper gain staging is one of the most important things you can learn.