Where can I find a multitrack recorder accessible to blind users?

sweetji

Hello.

I'm a music composer and theorist and I'm also very much interested in things related to musical acoustics. Not sure if this is the right place to ask but I hope my question can possibly be forwarded if necessary.

Just because I'm blind, my current life is getting difficult. Back in the '90s, my former composition teacher bought me a 4-track tape recorder and later a minidisc recorder. The absolutely great advantage of these machines was that just by touching the panel, I knew everything I wanted to (the levels and gains of the inputs, the panning for each track, the tracks currently selected for recording, the effect send levels, etc.). Also, since it was possible to record the same signal as the one coming from the stereo mixdown, bouncing tracks was very intuitive.
Unfortunately, analog tapes introduce audible noise while minidiscs use lossy compression (which is often surprisingly audible as well). So I was thinking about buying a new piece of equipment. I'm not so much concerned about portability but rather about having faders or rotary knobs for levels and panning and about doing all the necessary things even if I don't know what's on the display. And I'm definitely comfortable with 8 tracks played back simultaneously (I never needed more). But I'm getting stuck for several reasons. That's why I would highly appreciate your advice here.

#1. Tascam DP-32SD can allegedly convert individual tracks from its internal format to Wav format but I have no idea whether the internal format uses any data compression on the sound (which may degrade the quality) and I haven't found any web resource discussing this.