What type of mics to use for vocals in full band live recording

Hillelstud1

I’m an engineer just starting out. I have a group wanting to record all in one take like a live performance. They have three vocalists and I already have one Samson C01 condenser mic. Should I get two more condenser mics or use a dynamic mic?

Any suggestions on either?

Hi there, and welcome to HR!

Will the singers by isolated or are they sharing a room with live acoustic instruments?

Are you close miking everything and aiming for recording isolation?

Tell us a little more about the setup and the goals. :)

The room and monitoring type (floor vs in-ear) can make a difference too.

Condensers are going to capture a lot of everything else, no matter what you do, unless everyone is in their own room.

Off the top my head, I'd grab a modern-ish hyper-cardioid dynamic if they have any mic experience, i.e., so they can use the mic's tighter pattern. Otherwise a good cardioid dynamic, but there are a lot of variables to consider.

It will unfortunately be setup in an untreated open room. Everything will be direct in for low volume ( I’m in an apartment). So no, there won’t be isolation of vocalists. But there will be no acoustic instruments. They have an electric drum set they want to use.

Then it's the age old question - which mic?

Select the most appropriate mic for the voices. To be honest, if you have dynamics, then use them. EQ can sort out most problems - and the biggest one could well be the God awful noise electronic drums make in the room!

It will unfortunately be setup in an untreated open room. Everything will be direct in for low volume ( I’m in an apartment). So no, there won’t be isolation of vocalists. But there will be no acoustic instruments. They have an electric drum set they want to use.