Vocals sound great through headphones but fall flat through computer speakers?

I don't think there is anything to really solve? I have similar problems when I mix on the smaller speakers in the video studio - I simply can't trust these for making decisions on the less than 1K content. In my audio studio - the mixes work on the small ones in the video studio, and the ones mixed on the IEMs I quite like work pretty well. I have a pair of Sennheiser that sound great on playback, but mixing on those is dangerous? When you say 'quality' - what exactly do you mean?

Tricky to describe. I am a nincompoop with tech. Please forgive me. I record using M-Audio interface, audacity program, cheap Sony headphones, Bose speakers. While I sing the song live using the headphones it sounds ever so slightly amplified, clear in tone, and intimate, and pleasing to the ear. When I play my recording back listening thru headphones it sounds lackluster, no intimacy, Same thing when playing it over the bose speakers- all the good tone is lost. Should I attach a sound file? How long must it be?

Part of that could be when you're singing to record, you're also hearing your voice in your head. On playback, that part is missing. It's like a doubled vocal having one of the tracks muted on playback - the fullness and roundness drops away and a slight edge returns.

My guess is you are hearing yourself (when recording) direct monitored + track monitor which has a little delay, creating a 'flattering' delay/reverb that is fooling you. On playback, of course you are just hearing the straight recorded track. DO you add reverb?

My guess is you are hearing yourself (when recording) direct monitored + track monitor which has a little delay, creating a 'flattering' delay/reverb that is fooling you. On playback, of course you are just hearing the straight recorded track. DO you add reverb?