Vegas Pro vs. Pro Tools, Cubase,...

Bloodbought

yo wussup everyone. feels good to be here again. 3 years back i studied most of yalls input, and been out for a minute. im back and on fire to increase my knowledge of this industry. from da jump i preciate what yall have done, are doin, and will do for my attempt to prosper in this game. peace.. Ive returned to my studio and this site and found im behind, way back, know im sayin. dropped a single album in a "big time" studio last week and wasnt feelin it from jump. i need, my time..., with my music..., know im sayin. i know this has been asked but i guess im searchin for more. im workin with Vegas Pro, AKG3000b mic, Lexicon Core2 24 bit soundcard, and a dbx386 preamp. I will have my final mixin done in Florida. I just licensed my independant label to push Christian Rappers, includin myself, out. I need a home studio to record that will be worthy of puttin it on the shelf. Can u help? If its necessary to limit my budged, lets stop at 5-10g's. Thanx. Peace

This, like most Gear X vs. Gear Y questions, is really just personal preference, and most people haven't tried enough different products to make qualified opinions. The best you can do is figure out the features you need and features offered in the competing software. You can also visit each specific user site dedicated to the particular software, like www.sonikmatter.com for Logic, or the Cubase forum here, to see what current users are complaining or raving about.

To get you started, here's my opinions:

Protools: easiest solution since you just buy Digi 001 and you get your hardware/software package ready to go out of the box- at least in theory. Downside is you pretty much have to use their hardware which may not be the best for the money. Also, MIDI support in Protools is pretty limited.

Cubase: probably the best all around solution. Comprehensive midi and audio support. Last I looked, though, seems lotsa users were complaining about stability problems.