Using an interface for the mic pres only.

dreib

Anyone ever do this? Im guessing it would work just fine using the line outs of a different interface into the line inputs of my regular interface .

Am I missing something?

Hey,
Usually the analog outputs are nothing to do with the inputs at all.
The common thing is
mic preamp - analog to digital - digital to data
and
computer audio - data to digital audio - digital to analog (line outs)

I guess there may be interfaces out there which have multichannel direct monitoring but I can't think of any.
The only time I've seen that has been a stereo sum (for headphones whilst recording).

I think my motu 828 will let me route inputs to certain outputs, but I have a feeling the computer has to be connected up to set the routing, which would mean it's not direct.

Hmmm, not sure I follow you, I am a drummer ya know!

I have a US1800 with 4 line inputs synced up and ready go but I want to use a scarlett 2i2 as the mic pre's, not synced up just passing audio.....no?....yes?...maybe?.. Havent tried it yet.

Motu's interfaces work in stand-alone mode (that's one of the reasons I bought my 828mkII years ago....)

Not all interfaces will do this. You need to check before whipping out the plastic, as usual.

Hmmm, not sure I follow you, I am a drummer ya know!

I have a US1800 with 4 line inputs synced up and ready go but I want to use a scarlett 2i2 as the mic pre's, not synced up just passing audio.....no?....yes?...maybe?.. Havent tried it yet.

It might work, Direct Monitor > On and Line Outs to the US-1800. But why not just use the 2i2 as the interface? If you're looking to upgrade the mic pres, I don't think you're going to notice a big difference. (I have both units!)

If you are looking for nicer mic pres to front the US-1800, I have a Focusrite Twin Track Pro up for sell at a good price.

https://homerecording.com/bbs/speci...erface-focusrite-mic-pre-emu-pci-card-365042/