upside down mics

bongoboy

a clown without a circus
I see many videos of people recording with LDC's mounted upside down. Do they sound better this way?

I'm pretty sure that it's just relative to the singer's style and mic technique (or lack thereof). I remember reading something quite a few years ago, possibly on this forum somewhere, about how mic position can help a voice sound "better". For example, someone who has a nasally voice may be able to compensate for a better sound by positioning the mic a little lower or higher than their mouth. I dunno...

Someone please correct me if I'm wrong; I've been recording for a while but I'm no expert... ;)

Mikes are upside mostly because it looks cool

It really makes no material difference which way up yo have them.

There are a number of reasons why upside down is supposed to be better. Most of those are spurious. It would be one of the least significant issues in the quality of sound of a recording.

A quick varder found the idea that valved mics were put USD to keep heat off the capsule?

I have read that it was in fact VITAL to use the valve heat to drive out condensation!

Dave.

I do it so I can hold the lyric sheet just below the mic and be able to see it without the mic body in the way. :D

In Australia all the mics are upside down?? Actually all the mics in the US are upside down but thats another discussion.

I usually invert the mic to get it out of the way, of the lyric sheet, or when someone is playing a guitar at the same time as singing.

Alan.

Well mostly. It used to be done to keep the heat from the tube effecting the capsule. I can't speak for modern mics, but it's the reason you see the U47 hung upside down.