Tascom 788 vs Roland VS 880EX

Snagglefinger

Hi Everyone,

My name's Snagglefinger, a guitarist/bassist/struggling singer, and I'm new to the world of home recording. I'm planning on purchasing a digital workstation soon. I've been mostly intrigued by the Roland VS 880EX but a trusted salesman at a local music store recommended the Tascom 788 stating that it has all the same features, but with the 7.4 gig hard drive, its information is not compressed, making it easy to transfer tracks onto an ADAT tape later, plus it has more virtual tracks. It also is supposed to has a better backlight to work with. Wow.

Does anyone have any opinions on these two machines? Are they that similiar? The pricing on a new Tascom is about the same as a used Roland. I'd assume the Roland has better effects although I have a Lexicon I can use should I be underwhelmed by the quality of any particular effects on either machine.

I also plan to learn how to record my guitars though amps in a live room rather than just plugging in and playing.

So...whad'ya say?

Thanks.

Yo Fingers of Snaggle:

Roland has a new box: the VS-890, just advertised in this month's EM.

Looks pretty cool.

I don't own a Roland but maybe this new box is the one I might want if it doesn't take five years to learn how to use.

The photo of the unit looks pretty straight forward and I'm sending in for the free video of the unit.

You can do the same by getting on the Roland site.

Green Hornet