Tascam 4 track to Behringer mixer?

Michaelyu5

Hello....My first post. I am very new to all of this. I have a Tascam Porta Studio 4 track and recently bought a Behringer 8 channel mixer. However, I am unsure how to run my mics through the mixer into the Tascam as it (Tascam) requires 1/4 connectors and the mixing counsel has 2, 1/8 cables. I am thinking I can goto Radio shack and make something. I'm also thinking this will allow me to put two mics on one track, making my Tascam an 8 track. Mostly, however, Im thinking I dont know what Im talking about so maybe you dont know what Im talking about...ha....But, if you have any advice how I can use my new mixing counsel in relation with my little 4 tack, I will greatly appreciate it.
Best regards....
Michael

Which mixer is it? What model. We can look it up and tell you exactly how to hook it up.

In general, each channel on the recording mixer will have an input (where you plug in the mic) and an output (which you would plug into your 4-track). Most mixers also have ways that you can send several channels (i.e. several mics) to one output (i.e one track on your 4-track.) That's one of the reasons they are called mixers. :)

You can't make your four track any more than 4-tracks. You will never have more than 4 mixable tracks on tape. With your new mixer, though (and a certain amount of care) you can have more than 1 thing on each of those tracks without bouncing. So while you will have only 4 tracks you do indeed have 8 channels.

Whatever the outputs are on your mixer, Radio Shack has an adapter or special cable that will connect it with your 4-track. Be sure you know what connectors you need though! I highly doubt your Behringer has 1/8" jacks- more likely they are RCA jacks.

But let us know what you have. There may be some special conciderations of cool tricks that we can uncover.

Welcome to the board!
Chris

Chris,
Thanks....I have a Behringer "Eurorack" MX802A and a Tascam Porta Studio