TASCAM 2488 has failed...

Resoman

I've been recording of my acoustic string music on and off for many years; originally with a TASCAM 788 and with a 2488 for the past ten years or so. Apparently, the CD burner function of the 2488 has failed, and I'm in a situation where I'd like to be using it a lot, recording demos for the country group I'm playing with. I've thought about going to a desktop based system at times, but it seemed like I'd have a whole lot of learning to do, and hardware to buy. I do have an eight year old iMac that's not being used, I'm in good shape for mics, and I have a two channel mic pre.
I'm leaning toward staying with TASCAM and buying a TASCAM DP-32SD for 500 bucks. I assume I won't have much to learn, as compared to my 2488, and having 8 mic pre's w/phantom power would be handy.
So, how does this sound to you experienced folk? I'm open to suggestions...
Gary,
Elgin, TX

Hey Neighbor. I have never been a fan of standalone units; the flexibility of PC-based recording can't be matched. But, if all you want to do is demo's for the band and you're already familiar with the operation, then I'd say it is a good plan. You might also look at something like the Zoom R16, which is a little cheaper, can act as a standalone, AND can also be used as an interface. You can get the best of both worlds. I haven't used it but heard some good things about it when it first came out.

If you're thinking you might want to do more than just demos, you might reconsider going with a PC based recording system. There is a steep learning curve, but that you have already been recording your tunes, you have considerable knowledge and experience already.

Hope this helps,

Thanks, Chili,
Before I buy anything, I just realized that I've just opened a new package of blank CD's (Verbatim brand), at the same time the CD burner failed. It's worth a test with a different brand of CD's before I give up on the 2488.
Gary