Strange screeching noises, why?? DA conversion in vs out the box??

samion

Hi, my first post here, good to be here :)

I've noticed a strange problem with my new DAW I've built. I put in the RME 9632 (going unbalanced out to an amp) and it all works fine except at moderately high volumes I hear the screeching of computer programmes i.e. when I open up Sonar or even move the mouse around this screechy high pitched noise comes out... !!

Oddly, when I go out of the 9632 via ADAT into my focusrite saffire pro 40 and go out from that to the amp it's perfectly quiet!

So:

RME 9632: unbalanced audio out --> amp --> monitor Ones SCREECHING

RME 9632 ADAT out --> Focusrite Saffire Pro 40 : unbalanced out --> amp --> monitor Ones PERFECTLY QUIET!

I'm a semi-newbie here, and it confuses me. I'm probably wrong but it seems as though when the 9632 is doing the DA conversion it picks up all the very slight micro difference in computer strain caused by moving the mouse around and this somehow interferes with/strains the DA conversion to give me screeches... but when I send that data out digitally to the Focusrite to do the DA conversion, even though it's passing through the RME card and it's going out unbalanced it doesn't.. therefore I'm guessing it's a DA conversion issue of the RME 9632.

I know the general rule is get the ADDA done out the box but you'd expect RME to be built pretty solidly surely!?

I'm using a Tacima power conditioner which I'm pretty sure helps cut down this noise but it doesn't eliminate it at all.

Am I right in what I'm thinking? Or am I doing something wrong?

Any help much appreciated!

Some computers are inherently noisy. The most usual fix is to go for balanced audio all the way through.

My earlier computer, with a firepod and unbalanced leads to active monitors was dead quiet.

The newer one, with the same configuration, was full of that noise. I switched to balanced leads which fixed it totally.