"Sound City"....the movie.

she got into drugs because in the 70's basically all pro musicians were into drugs.
In the early hours of this morning, I was watching a documentary on David Bowie and one of the guitarists he played with, Earl Slick, said this. He said "everyone in the biz was out there". And he added that none of the people he knew were so "out there" that they couldn't make great music.
Even when I started playing music and was anything but a pro musician, everyone I knew that played music was into drugs in some shape or form. By the 80s, it came with the territory. You learned to play an instrument and roll a spliff or had a McDonalds straw for coke......no pun intended !
Then it got to the point where most young people I knew that were into drugs had nothing to do with playing music at all !

Sound City was alright, but I wish it was more Mick Fleetwood blowing lines and Stevie Nicks flossing her teeth instead of all that boring gear craps.
Just buy Mick's autobiography. Then you can have Mick blowing lines to your heart's content and at your leisure. :D

in truth. How many times have you been in a group conversation and had it stick to the topic right from the start to the end ? Conversation topics will always be a springboard to other topics. You know, most conversations, like tree branches, go off in directions that weren't obvious at the start.
^^^^^^^^ this ^^^^^^

Drugs and alcohol are still every bit as prominent in music as they always were. I just quit a band because of the cocaine and poor playing from the other guys. It's lame when you're the only sober guy in a band full of potheads and junkies.

Saw this back in February when it first came out.

1.) Awesome documentary.
2.) Never been a Fleetwood Mac fan. That said, I didn't mind that they played a prominent role in this film - they did in the studio's story. Whatever.