Sloppy drums!

Having just skimmed thru these replies and listening to the recording my opinion is, USE A CLICK! Practice with it as a whole group and when you hit record ,dont tell the drummer.
I'm a drummer working on timing. Have been for awhile. Been working with a click and program that tells me when, where and how much each limb is off. Really trained my ears.
The timing is definitely off.
1. The drummers timing needs improvement. He and the bass need to work with a click. You need a tighter rhythm section.
2. Bad timing isn't always the drummers fault. I can hear that everybody's timing suffers.
3. Definitely, every member needs to use a click.
But, it sounds not bad.

I'm a drummer working on timing. Have been for awhile. Been working with a click and program that tells me when, where and how much each limb is off. Really trained my ears.
The timing is definitely off.
1. The drummers timing needs improvement. He and the bass need to work with a click. You need a tighter rhythm section.
2. Bad timing isn't always the drummers fault. I can hear that everybody's timing suffers.
3. Definitely, every member needs to use a click.
But, it sounds not bad.
Let's hope he got better in the last 9 years...

I disagree with the chap from 2012 who insisted on the use of a click. The best, most timeless classics were of a full band recording simultaneously, with subtle tempo shifts.

Now, that band needs to consist of members who have all put in the work with a metronome- that's the rub, IMHO.

Anyway, I think that, in 2012, the consequences of modern music's incessant grid alignment were not yet understood.