Recording vocals - stuck and frustrated. (links to mp3 examples)

Eurythmic

majordomo plasticomo
Now then. I've been recording at home for about three years now. I've only become more interested in it as time has gone by. I am but a poor student, so I lack some of the key ingredients to a good home recording setup...
I've decided to take some time off from school to give this whole music thing half a chance, so I do hope to improve my equipment selection soon...
But until then, I'm looking to get the most out of what I have. The lone mic in my collection is a Shure SM57. I plug it into my Tascam 488MK][, which I use as a mixer, and then run that into the line in on my soundcard. I use Cakewalk Pro Audio 9 for recording. For plugins I have AutoTune (which I really don't use, aside from the occasional "ooh" or "ahh" backing vocal, if the singer's voice wavers a bit), Microphone Modeler, and the Cakewalk FX pack that includes reverb.
Let me just tell you right off the bat, I DON'T have a dedicated microphone preamp or a compressor. I realize that those things will be a great boon once I learn how to use them, but I can't afford them now and I'm really a strong believer in working with what you've got. And I really don't think that I'm good enough at engineering yet to say that I've reached the limits of what my equipment can do...
I think I'm getting fairly good at putting together a good sounding mix. I'm really starting to like some of the guitar sounds that I'm able to make (though none of these mp3s are really good examples), and I'm improving all the time. In fact, whenever I listen to an old mix, I find myself thinking of lots of things that I could have done to make it sound better.