Recording R&B Band Live - HELP!

Fraser13

Hey,
I have a gig coming up (March 19th) and was hoping to record it. We are a 13 piece band:

4 Vocals
Guitar
Bass
Drums
Keyboard 1
Keyboard 2
Trumpet
Alto
Tenor
Trombone
Bari Sax

The room isn't very huge and I'm new to recording so I was wondering if anyone has any tips, or do's and don'ts.

So far what we're thinking is daisy-chaining 2 Firestudio Projects/Tubes together and having those go into a laptop. Then we were thinking we'd mic everyone and plug each person into one of the XMAX preamps on the Firestudios.

We're trying to figure out if we should get DI boxes for the bass and 2 keyboards, or if we should mic their amps. Also for the vocals, should we run them into a mixer then take each line out and record them separately?

Hopefully I didn't miss anything. If anyone has any information at all, that would be a great help. Thanks very much.

Live gig? Dont bother trying to mic everyone separately.

Take the main outs of the mixer and record to a stereo file.

Keep. It. Simple....

Live gig? Dont bother trying to mic everyone separately.

Take the main outs of the mixer and record to a stereo file.

Keep. It. Simple....

That's one solution - although the mix on the night is rarely the one that sounds best on tape. If you really want to be able to give things a decent tweak afterwards, you're going to need some degree of separation.

I would usually DI whatever I can in this situation - at least you know you're getting a reliably clean signal.

I'm not sure what you mean or what you hope to achieve with your vocal approach. Are you referring to the mixer for the live rig? If the venue mixer has pre-fader line-outs then by far the easiest, while still very effective approach is to run the line-out from each channel to an input on your firestudio.

Hi,

I would do the opposite to what tim suggested (sorry Tim), I would mic everything and DI everything I could as well.