Recording Levels in DAW's

themdla

Hi guys,

I've been recording for a few years and have never really gotten the results i was looking for. Recently i became aware that i may be recording and mixing too "hot". i've always tried to get the signal coming in as hot as possible without cliping, i was always told this was the method for getting the best s/n ratio.

however i have never really understood "headroom" and "dynamics" as they relate to recording and mixing. recently i read an article that suggests peak signal level should reach about -15dbfs during recording to maintain headroom.

so what do you guys think is optimal signal level coming in?
how much headroom should i maintain during the process?

Gear: Digi 002, KRK RP5, PC, ProTools LE 8

Assuming you're recording at 24 bit, which you should be, it's awfully damn hard to record things too quiet; when in doubt, turn it down, but there's almost never a need to turn it up.

That said though, IMHO, the optimum level for recording is to record at an RMS level equal to the calibrated conversion level of your A/D converter. This is typically somewhere around -18dBFS, +/- 4dB, depending upon the age and source of your converters.

Don't worry about the peak level when you set your levels this way; as long as they don't clip, you're fine. But if you're getting clipping or close to clipping, then turn the recording level down and you'll be just fine.

G.

Most of the "record as hot as possible without clipping" stuff came from reel to reel tracking scenarios and, to a degree, 16 bit digital. (if I'm remembering right)

"headroom" is the room you leave at the top of your scale...i.e. from -15 up to say -1 (ish)
You'll want the headroom for when you have all your tracks summed together as a mix, applying EQ and compression, limiting etc...